ISO New England announces election of board of directors

In addition, two of the ISO's original board members, John Kassakian and Alvin Klevorick, will retire later this year

Holyoke, Mass., May 20, 2011 — ISO New England Inc., the operator of the region's bulk power system and wholesale electricity markets, today announced the election of four board members, including the election of two new directors and the reelection of two current directors.

In addition, two of the ISO's original board members, John Kassakian and Alvin Klevorick, will retire later this year.

New member Vickie VanZandt will replace Kassakian, and new member Christopher Wilson will replace Klevorick. Kathryn Jackson and Paul Levy were reelected to a second full term. Jackson has served on the board since 2008, and Levy has served on the board since 2006.

As a regional transmission organization, ISO New England elects its board members through a nominating process that involves representatives from the ISO New England board of directors, the New England Power Pool, and the state regulatory group, the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners.

All four candidates were selected through this process earlier this year and received the endorsement of the NEPOOL participants committee earlier this month. The ISO Board has nine voting members.

Vickie VanZandt currently runs VanZandt Electric Transmission Consulting, Inc., based in Washington State, and is also the Western Electricity Coordinating Council's program manager for the Western Interconnection Synchrophasor Program. In 2009, she retired from Bonneville Power Administration after 35 years of service.

As Bonneville's Senior Vice President of Transmission Services, VanZandt was responsible for planning, design, construction, operation, maintenance, marketing, and management of the 15,000 circuit mile, high voltage transmission system covering four states in the Pacific Northwest.

She served as Bonneville Power's chief engineer for a decade, holds a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from the University of Washington, and is a senior member of the IEEE.

Christopher Wilson has three decades of experience in the financial sector. He began his career at Fidelity Investments, working in a number of operational roles. He then spent 10 years at Scudder, Stevens & Clark, developing its marketing and sales organizations, as well as its support structure.

He was principal there from 1992 to 1997. After Scudder, he joined CDC IXIS Asset Management Services, Inc., becoming president and CEO in 1998.

From there, Wilson became president of Columbia Funds at the Bank of America, where he was responsible for the entire operational nondistribution segment of the mutual fund business. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Lake Forest College and is currently a private investor working with start-up firms.

VanZandt will join the board on July 1 when Kassakian retires, and Wilson will join on October 1 when Klevorick retires. Kassakian planned to retire last year, but agreed to stay on when another board member left last September before the conclusion of his term.

ISO New England board members are subject to the company's code of conduct that includes a nonaffiliation provision, which means that no officer of the company can have a financial interest in any company participating in New England's wholesale markets.

More in Home