Lineman safety: Excavation Safety University Webinar

Utility safety: Webinar explores the top 10 safety hazards confronting locate technicians in the field.

Content Dam Up En Articles 2013 10 Lineman Safety Excavation Safety University Webinar Leftcolumn Article Thumbnailimage File

Utility safety: Webinar explores the top 10 safety hazards confronting locate technicians in the field.

November 4: Locating Safely Webinar
November 8: Line Locating Webinars 101 & 102

• When: Monday November 4, 2013
• Start Time Locating Safely Webinar: 11:00 AM Eastern, 10:00 AM Central, 9:00 AM Mountain, 8:00 AM Pacific
• Duration: 60 Minutes
• Registration Fee: $125.00 per webinar

This one-hour webinar explores the top 10 safety hazards confronting locate technicians in the field. Stressing the importance of a 'Safety First!' attitude and encouraging participants to consider the costs of unsafe decisions, this one hour webinar is unique to the locating profession and offers a welcome break from generic safety presentations that don't quite fit for locating.

Topics include:
- Dogs
- Heat and Cold Stress
- Confined Space
- Distracted Driving

Presenter: Christopher Koch is President and Lead Instructor at The Locator School and is past President of NULCA and helped develop the Professional Competence Standard for locate technicians.

Included with registration is a FREE copy of Excavation Safety University's Training DVD "Locating Safely: Avoiding Hazards"

View Video Clip>>

• When: Friday November 8, 2013
• Start Time Line Locating 101: 12:00 PM Eastern, 11:00 AM Central, 10:00 AM Mountain, 9:00 AM Pacific
• Start Time Line Locating 102: 2:30 PM Eastern, 1:30 PM Central, 12:30 PM Mountain, 11:30 AM Pacific
• Duration: 90 Minutes
• Registration Fee: $125.00 per webinar



Line Locating 101 is designed for individuals responsible for line locating and underground damage prevention.

Key elements covered during this course:

- The One Call Process

- An Overview of Line Locating Technologies

- Key Fundamental Steps to a Successful Utility Locate

- Placing and Understanding Excavation Site Markings

Line Locating 102 is designed for individuals who have experience performing tasks of underground line locating and understand how line locating equipment works.

Key elements covered during this course:

- Advanced Signal Theory / Signal Wave Interference, Distortion and Attenuation

- Techniques for eliminating or reducing the effect of multiple signal waves and locate error.

- Troubleshooting / Recognizing and Solving Problem Locate Scenarios

- Inductive and Passive Locating Techniques. When direct connection is not possible.

- Overview of Subsurface Locating Technologies (a look at new technologies and old favorites)

Included with registration is a FREE copy of Excavation Safety University's Training DVD "Locating Best Practices." This is a $129 value! View Video Clip>>

Presenter: Bob Nighswonger is President/CEO of Utility Training Academy Inc. and a professional line locating instructor.

More in Safety